You’ve seen me go on about Wizard101 and Pirate101; well, my favorite school of magic (from W101) is Life, because Life wizards can heal, and my favorite class (from P101) is Privateer, because they can also heal. I don’t only like to heal myself, either. The reason I chose these character types is because I like playing with other people, and not just playing, but helping. Especially on Wizard101, but on Pirate101 too, I will gladly and eagerly set aside what I’m doing to help a friend with fighting a boss or completing a dungeon.

My point is not to brag here. My point is to explain something about myself: I like to help out where I can, and will go out of my way to do so. Likewise, and this is the ultimate point of this post, I like to help in real, offline life whenever I can. This includes putting a smile on others’ faces when they are down, or really, at any time. Whether its giving a compliment or two, hurrying ahead to open the door for a stranger, volunteering in the community, or the like, I enjoy it. It makes me happy in return. That’s all the thanks I’ll ever need.

It’s the compliments I most wanted to talk about, though. I get a feeling when I give a lot of compliments to people, those words lose some of their strength. I’m not the kind of person who will lie to make people happy, but they say too much of any good thing can make it a bad thing. I’m not worried about my friends taking the compliments for granted. I’m worried about my friends not believing my compliments anymore.

That’s why I’m posting this. I’m not going to stop giving compliments – I refuse. But I do want people to know that I’m being honest, and that what I say I like about them, I really do like. I come from a long line of worriers, so I hope I’m just imagining all this about nice words losing their power to cheer other people up. From intention to reception, those words and their warmth need to keep their strength. I’m not saying them for nothing, after all.

Smile!

Would you like to comment on this post?

